A K Padmanabhan, Tapan Sen elected CITU President and General Secretary

KANNUR: A K Padmanabhan and Tapan Sen were today re-elected as President and General Secretary of the CITU on the concluding day of the four-day conference here. 

Ranjana Nirula was elected as treasurer. The meeting also elected 15 Vice Presidents and 16 Secretaries. 

During the 14th all-India conference various resolutions were passed, chief among which was concern over what it termed are increasing incidences of attacks on the trade union movement and said it was part of the aggressively driven "neo-liberal government policies, aided by MNCs and the corporate media." 

It said increasing attacks on the movement was to suppress the working class. 

"The attacks are manifestation and part of aggressively driven neoliberal policies of the present dispensation abetted by MNCs and corporate media," it said. 

In another 
resolution, it condemned the government's move to privatise Integrated Child Development Services through ICDS Mission and reiterated the demand to institutionalisation it.