home Advertise
With Us

Government appoints P K Sinha as Power secretary, Sarkar new DoPT secretary

NEW DELHI: In a major administrative reshuffle, senior IAS officers Pradeep Kumar Sinha, Syamal Kumar Sarkar and Vishwapati Trivedi were today appointed as Secretary in Ministry of Power, Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) and Ministry of Shipping respectively.

The appointments were approved by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh-led Appointments Committee of Cabinet (ACC). 

Sinha, a 1977 batch IAS officer of Uttar Pradesh cadre, is at present Secretary in Ministry of Shipping. The vacancy was necessitated following superannuation of incumbent P Uma Shankar today. 

A 1979 batch IAS officer of 
West Bengal cadre, Sarkar has been appointed in place of P K Mishra (1976 batch IAS officer of UP cadre) who retires today. 

Sarkar, who is at present Secretary in 
Ministry of Water Resources, has earlier served asAdditional Secretary in the DoPT. 

Trivedi, a 1977 batch IAS officer of 
Madhya Pradesh cadre, has replaced Sinha following his new appointment. He is currently Chairman, Inland Waterways Authority of India. 

Senior IAS officer Alok Rawat has been appointed as Secretary in Ministry of Water Resources, a government press release said. The 1977 batch officer of Sikkim cadre is Secretary (Coordination and Public Grievances), Cabinet Secretariat. 

The ACC has also approved appointment of 
Gauri Kumar, a 1979 batch IAS officer of Gujarat cadre, as Secretary (Border Management) in the Home Ministry. Kumar is at present Special Secretary in Ministry of Mines.