home Advertise
With Us

Telegraph INFOCOM Awards recognise SME initiatives, entrepreneurial success

Kolkata, Dec 3 :  To identify and recognise initiatives of small and medium enterprises as well as entrepreneurial success in Eastern India, particularly from the states of Bengal, Odisha, Bihar, Jharkhand and the northeast, the Telegraph-INFOCOM SME Awards will be given away.

The awards will be given on December-6 during the INFOCOM 2014 held here from December-4 to 6 on the theme ‘Entrepreneurship’, according to an official release.

The event is being supported by TiE and Federation of Small and Medium Industries (FOSMI).

As far as the objectives are concerned, the event will provide a platform to project innovative and extraordinary entrepreneurs in the SME sector in eastern India; project the developmental potential of the SME segment; empower SME business leaders with inspiration, ideas, valuable insights and knowledge; provide a forum that will encourage creation of SME entrepreneurs; and provide business leaders of SMEs with an exclusive networking platform.

SMEs competing for the awards should have an annual turnover less than Rs 200 crore; the firms must be in operation for at least three years; each nominee must be the owner of a private or public company, who is primarily responsible for driving the organisation’s initiatives.

Awards will be given for various categories such as - Most Dynamic Growing SME, Most Innovative SME, SME with International presence, Best SME Start-Up (turnover less than Rs 10 crore), Best SME of 2014 and Outstanding SME of the Year.

The event would feature panel discussions on - Empowering SMEs for India 2025; Unlocking the potential of SMEs; and maximising competitive advantage through innovations.  This would feature managing director and CEO, Bombay Stock Exchange, Ashish Chauhan; Best replica handbags CEO, Reliance Commercial Finance, K V Srinivasan; and partner and head of Management Consulting, KPMG, India, Ambarish Dasgupta.

In addition, there will be spotlight sessions on ‘Driving Excellence through Creativity’ that will be led by Shashi Taroor and ‘Making a difference’ led by Kiran Bedi.